Then Comes Silence “Stay Strange”
new wave band standing in front of a blue wall

Then Comes Silence “Stay Strange”


Swedish post-punk outfit Then Comes Silence presents ‘Stay Strange’, their latest slice of dark goodness, which sees frontman / vocalist Alex Svenson joined by guest vocalist Dusty Gannon of Vision Video, with whom the band is currently touring North America.

With its memorable chorus chant “Stay strange and pure at heart”, the vocals are grounded firmly on an energetic backbeat by drummer Jonas Fransson, rhythmic guitar lines by Hugo Zombie and Svenson’s own solid basslines.

“‘Stay Strange!’ is the call that Dusty Gannon of Vision Video shouts after every show,” explains TCS frontman Alex Svenson. “When we returned home from our last tour with them, I began working on the song and made it a tribute to the post-punk/goth scene. It was also a natural choice to invite Dusty to sing the chorus.”

Lifted from their seventh album ‘Trickery’, released earlier this month via Metropolis Records, here are 13 lush cavernous tracks. Apart from Gannon, this recording also features guest appearances by Gözde Duzer of Aux Animaux, Emma Nylén (Emmon) and Jörgen Wall of Whale**, **Thåström.

Recorded by Jörgen Wall (Jay-Jay Johanson, The Hellacopters) over three days at Stockholm’s Kapsylen Studio and mixed by Tom van Heesch (Rammstein, Apocalyptica, Backyard Babies), this album was mastered by Svante Forsbäck / Chartmakers (Rammstein, Amaranthe, Ville Valo, The Rasmus, Apocalyptica). Ahead of the album’s release, Then Comes Silence released the singles ‘Like a Hammer’ and ‘Ride or Die’.

This album celebrates friendship, unity and the feeling of belonging to a group, a tribe. Being a part of what most people would call the goth and post-punk  community is, according to the band, a great privilege. After being on the road and meeting people from the music scene for so many years, the band have experienced a caring and welcoming community. Old and young. Some with a similar background and some just for the love of the music and the culture that comes with the lifestyle.

Following up their 2022 album ‘Hunger’, released via Nexilis Records / Schubert Music (Europe) and Metropolis Records (North America), ‘Trickery’ captures the heart and essence of alternative rock, along with electronic elements, but it is also a salute to punk music, to which Then Comes Silence traces their roots.

Formed in Stockholm in 2012, Then Comes Silence is made up of frontman Alex Svenson, drummer Jonas Fransson and guitarist Hugo Zombie (Los Carniceros del Norte) with Svenson originally inspired by frequent touring with A Place To Bury Strangers and an attraction to horror and the occult.

After debuting with their eponymous album in 2012, Then Comes Silence put out two more albums before releasing ‘Blood’ via Nuclear Blast in 2016. Their subsequent ‘Machine’ album was jointly released via Oblivion / SPV and Metropolis Records in 2020.

Then Comes Silence has toured and played live with The Fields of the Nephilim, The Chameleons, A Place To Bury Strangers, The Bellwether Syndicate and Vision Video, as well as performing at Wave Gotik Treffen, M’era Luna, Amphi Festival, Castle Party and W-Festival.

The ‘Trickery’ album is out now, available on vinyl, CD and digitally everywhere, including Apple MusicSpotify and Bandcamp. Then Comes Silence is currently touring North America, joined by Vision VideoAurelio Voltaire and Tears For The Dying.

-Official bio

Watch our latest “Short Cuts” video podcast to discover more new indie tracks


recent features